So… this is real life

Hello,

My name is Emily. I’m sure most of you that have found yourselves here know that. After being told for months to make a blog, I finally did. Most of you know life has been pretty interesting for me the last couple months. In July, I gave testimony (@1:17:30) in front of lawmakers and the public about the anti-abortion bill that was recently proposed to the state of NC. I wrote a couple blog posts about why I decided to share my story. Shortly after, I moved with my family to the state of Florida since my husband was medically discharged from the military.

In the month that we’ve lived here, I’ve been hunting for a job. Sadly, there are no programs helping veteran’s spouses find employment after spending years raising children while their spouse was away at war. I was able to get an unpaid internship with my local Democratic Party, which is great since I love to do political work, but it doesn’t pay the bills. So far I’ve had two job interviews with paying companies. My first was with America’s favorite healthy burrito making company. I thought it would be a great idea to bring a felt burrito filled with reasons why I’d be a great fit for them. Sadly, that was a bust and I was not selected for employment. My next interview, which was today, was for a wholesale company. We had a short interview and I was told I’d get a call back if they were interested since these were initial interviews. Tomorrow I have an interview with America’s favorite coffee shop. I’m hoping it will go well. As this is my third interview, and the third one that isn’t in my field of work or schooling, I’m low on feel good feelings. I always manage to put my happy face on and shine, so tomorrow will be no different. I do hope the third time is the charm.

Thanks to military spouse scholarships and programs like MyCAA, I was able to obtain my AA and get a certificate for Medical Administrative Assistant for free. It doesn’t seem like either of these have helped me obtain a job though since I’ve gotten rejection emails from retail stores and restaurants. I’ve yet to hear a word back from the local hospital on about a job as well. All of this aside, I know eventually the right job will come to me and my family will be secure.

Now let me get to what this blog will be about. It will be about everything. It will be a social justice mommy blog slash life blog slash feels blog slash whatever the heck I want. I hope you continue reading in the future and you enjoy what I have to say.

Leave a comment